Wednesday, 21 March 2012

Eye of the Tempest Review

Eye of the Tempest (Jane True 4)
-          Nicole Peeler
Publisher: UK – Orbit
Nothing says "home" like being attacked by humans with very large guns, as Jane and Anyan discover when they arrive in Rockabill. These are professionals, brought into kill, and they bring Anyan down before either Jane or the barghest can react. Seeing Anyan fall awakens a terrible power within Jane, and she nearly destroys herself taking out their attackers. Jane wakes, weeks later, to discover that she's not the only thing that's been stirring. Something underneath Rockabill is coming to life: something ancient, something powerful, and something that just might destroy the world. Jane and her friends must act, striking out on a quest that only Jane can finish. For whatever lurks beneath the Old Sow must be stopped...and Jane's just the halfling for the job.

I am a big fan of Jane True – I love the humour of these books as well as the different supernatural world Nicole Peeler has created. This world is secret from ours but fits and feels accessible while at the same time having a unique mythology and rules. Eye of the Tempest picks up where Tempest’s Legacy finishes with Jane and Anyan returning to Rockabill. This is the first book set entirely in Rockabill, but somehow manages to miss most of Jane’s day to day life with the focus very much on the supernatural mystery. Something powerful has been hidden in Rockabill and if the bad guys find it before Jane and Anyan, it could spell the end of Rockabill.
For me this was a book of two halves. The first half felt very dominated by Jane’s libido. While always vocal before, this time I couldn’t help feeling it ‘took over’ with Jane always thinking about sex – while not actually getting any! This detracted a little from the plot – especially as there was a lot going on and I wanted to focus on the threat and story rather than continually talking about peoples ‘packages’ or other word play. It was fun at first but I quickly tired of it.
The second half of the book totally raises the bar and changes everything. And I mean, everything – history, future, powers, positions in the supernatural world – it all changes. From the finding of the third lock to the last page I was just swept up in the action and the plot. Jane has changed so much since the first book as she learns to use her magic and how to fight for herself. With the introduction of Blondie and Jane’s two paramour’s taking a back seat in this story, it really does feel the start of a new series – a very different series than before. Previous Jane books have had more a mystery or detective feel to the plot, but that feels like it’s over with future stories set to be more epic and world changing. I can’t wait to see what happens next!
Recommended for fans of Carrie Vaughn and Jeaniene Frost. 8 out of 10.


  1. Eeek skimming! I am yet to read book 1! But i wanna :)

  2. I'm reading this now! I so love this series :-)

  3. #4??? I still need to read #1. I have it on my tbr. Oh what is taking me so long? Mel! Help me!

  4. Um, I have books 3 & 4 here waiting for me! I need to get back into the groove again. lol. So glad to see you are loving Jane!