Wednesday, 27 July 2011

Early Review: Sacred Evil

Sacred Evil (Krewe of Hunters 3)
-       Heather Graham
Publisher: MIRA – released 26th July 2011 in US
E-Copy courtesy of netgalley and MIRA
The details of the crime scene are no coincidence. The body – a promising starlet – has been battered, bloodied and then discarded between two of Manhattan’s oldest graveyards. One look and Detective Jude Crosby recognizes the tableau: a re-creation of Jack the Ripper’s gruesome work. But he also sees something beyond the actions of a mere copycat. Something more dangerous…and unexplainable. As the city seethes with suspicion, Jude calls on Whitney Tremont, a member of the country’s preeminent paranormal investigating team, to put the speculation to rest. Yet when Whitney and Jude delve deeper, what they discover is more shocking than either could have predicted, and twice as sinister…

This is the third in the Krewe of Hunters series and perhaps the strongest story so far. The focus this time is on Whitney, the film expert from New Orleans and her partnership with New York Detective Jude. Someone is recreating Jack the Ripper’s victims in New York over 120 year after the original murders...or is Jack himself back?
Jack the Ripper is always a fascinating subject – an infamous murderous spree that stopped suddenly with no culprit ever caught. The move from the traditional Ripper stomping ground of Whitechapel to downtown Manhattan was smooth and fit with the history of New York. New York is always a city that adds character to stories and enjoyed the hints of the past and present of the city that never sleeps.
Once again I enjoyed the relationships here most. The focus is obviously on Whitney and Jude, but I liked the camaraderie of the Krewe – more prevalent here than in the second story, Heart of Evil. In addition we are introduce to some of New York’s finest also working on the taskforce, which made the story feel grounded and closer to a real crime investigation, than we’ve seen for a while. It also enabled Jude and Whitney’s relationship to develop and liked that they didn’t jump straight into bed together. The relationships are definitely the meat of the story with the fascinating crimes the perfectly balanced wine complement and the ghost elements...a yummy desert!
An enjoyable and easy read that doesn’t waste time and drives the story forward – great for a summer read with a blend of crime, romance and ghostly happenings.
Recommended for fans of Nora Roberts and Jayne Ann Krentz. 7.5 out of 10


  1. Oh I need dessert now! ;)

    I haven't read a Graham yet. I've been wanting to! Yes, I fail, but I won't someday! This might be the series I get from her. Sounds like a good character book!

  2. Perhaps if I get back to reading books like these :)
    And lol, you sold me with that yummy desert

  3. I have this one on my list. I can't wait to read it as well.