Tuesday, 28 May 2013

Guest Review: Silver Borne (Mercy Thompson #5)

While we were away on holiday last week my guest reviewer Sarah went through just as many books as me so I've asked her what she thought of one of my favourites...

Silver Bourne (Mercry Thompson #5)
Patricia Briggs

Publisher: Orbit

Being a mechanic is hard work. Mercy Thompson, for instance, just spent the last couple of months trying to evade the murderous queen of the local vampire seethe. And now the leader of the werewolf pack, who's maybe-more-than-just-a-friend, has asked for her help. A book of fae secrets has come to light and they're all about to find out how implacable - and dangerous - the fae can be. 
OK, so maybe her troubles have nothing to do with the job. But she sure could use a holiday...

Ah dear, back from a lovely week away with Mel in Portugal, to her sad loss, and a crazy week trying to deal with a week’s missed work, and an imploding iphone.  Finally there though, so I can now get down to reviewing one of the books I read whilst I was away. 
Now, from my previous reviews of Patricia Briggs’ series, you’ll know how much I love the very real, very likeable, coyote-shape-shifting heroine Mercy Thompson, so I won’t bore you by rehashing just how much I LOVE her!  Instead I’ll limit myself to the story itself.  There has yet to be even a vaguely weak story in this series, and Silver Borne is no exception. 
Arc plots are furthered - including the continuing repercussions from Mercy’s rape (which are so emotionally resonant they make your stomach squirm), the so-magic-its-almost-sentient fae walking stick, and Mercy’s relationship with Adam and the pack - but do not mistake this for a filler book, there is plenty of novel to get your teeth into.  The main sequences place Mercy at odds with homicidal, power-hungry fae, but when the sub-plot concerns Samuel, you know there will be no place for skim-reading.  Samuel’s story takes a turn that is so out of left-field I was bowled over – without giving the game away, Briggs yet again tackles an emotionally sensitive issue with power, passion and precision.
Whilst book 4 has been my favourite in the series thus far, that opinion does not decry in the least from Silver Borne, which was a captivating, pacey read with real depth, showcasing once again Briggs’ ridiculous talent as a fantasy author.  One for fans of Kelley Armstrong and Carrie Vaughn, 9 out of 10.


  1. Out of all the books in the series, this is the one I re-read the most. So many great scenes!

  2. This is the one I need to get to... I stopped after her rape. Not that I couldn't continue, it just happened that way and now I will have a hard time starting again. However, this will help and I know I will enjoy it too!

  3. oh yes this one was so fun! I have the last book and I still need to read it, I really need more time.

  4. Wow. That's cool to have reviewers to go through books too. lol. Glad you enjoyed this one! A series I need to get started on.