Saturday, 25 May 2013

Novella Review: Forbidden Fruit (Corine Solomon #3.5)

Forbidden Fruit (Corine Solomon #3.5, Shannon Cheney)
Ann Aguirre
Kindle Book

Review Copy Courtesy of Netgalley
 I see dead people. Okay, that’s a lie. I hear dead people—on an antique radio…
So far, that talent hasn’t brought Shannon Cheney fame or fortune. Since the world remains unaware that magick is real, being Gifted largely sucks. Her boss is an asshole, she makes minimum wage, and she’s got a serious case of forbidden lust for a sexy cop named Jesse Saldana. He’s part Mexican heat, all Texas charm, and enough of a dirty cowboy to curl her toes. Too bad he’s set on resisting her wiles.
To make matters worse, there’s this weird amnesia thing happening. She might think she’s going crazy, except Jesse’s got it too, and memory loss isn’t contagious like the flu. When Shannon pokes around, trying to put the missing pieces together, demonic retaliation is swift and potentially deadly. Jesse’s too much of a white knight to let her face danger alone, and she’s hoping he can’t resist the white-hot chemistry blazing between them

Although this book is sat between Shady Lady and Devil’s Punch in the Corine Solomon series, Corine is not in sight as the story focuses on Shannon and Jesse after they lose their memories and their developing relationship. Shannon is no Corine. She is younger and more bolshie but despite her tough upbringing, she is less damaged in a way than Corine and much more hopefully over what she can build. She has never been hurt the same way as Corine and this really makes a difference in her chase of the cop-in-white-armor Jesse. I really loved the way both she and Jesse were able to start building a real relationship of equals – especially as I wasn’t sure of their new relationship when I read about it in Devil’s Punch.

In addition to their relationship, both Jesse and Shannon are dealing with their bizarre amnesia. Neither of them are aware that Corine accidentally managed to wipe their memories of anything related to her so their recent past has a number of small holes which Shannon particularly would like resolved. As such she finds herself wrapped up with Demons who seem to be very interested in her for some reason. This adds a nice fission of danger and the unexpected to the story with Shannon’s gift to summon the dead not always the best to protect herself.
The only bad thing in this story is that it feels like it ends a little suddenly with little resolution - the resolution really comes in Devil’s Punch. So although I loved getting to know Shannon better and really enjoyed her burgeoning relationship with Jesse, the lack of a resolution with regards to the demons and the amnesia made me feel the story wasn’t quite finished! I would definitely be interested in dropping in on Shannon and Jesse again soon though! 
Recommended for fans of Kelly Meding and Nicole Peeler. 7.5 out of 10


  1. I have the first book of this series, I really need to try it.

  2. I want to get this one as I've been reading the series. I would like to see these two together. I still need to read the last book of the series yet. *sigh* TIME!!!!