Saturday, 22 June 2013

Early Review: A Cursed Embraced (Weird Girls #2) + GIVEAWAY!!

A Cursed Embrace (Weird Girls #2)
Cecy Robson

Publisher: Signet – To Be Published 2nd July

E-Arc courtesy of Netgalley and Signet

Celia Wird and her three sisters are just like other twenty-something girls—with one tiny exception: They are the products of a curse that backfired and gave each of them unique powers that made them, well, a little weird…

After Celia Wird and her sisters help master vampire Misha save his family, their powers are exposed to the supernatural community of the Lake Tahoe region. But fame comes at a price, and being “weird” isn’t always welcome. To make matters worse, Celia desires the love of Alpha werewolf Aric, but his pack is bent on destroying their relationship to preserve his pureblood status. And once weres start turning up dead—with evidence pointing to the vampires—she must face the prospect of losing Aric forever. But the chaos only masks a new threat. An evil known as the Tribe has risen—and their sights are set on Celia and her sisters...


When you finish a book completely distraught and wishing to give some of the characters a big hug, you know you’ve been completely swept up into their world and taken on a journey. Starting just a week after Sealed With A Curse ended, Celia and her sisters are trying to figure out where their relationships with their various wolves stand when it seems Demons are determined to enter our world and have the Wird girls in their sights. Set over the course of nine months or so, A Cursed Embrace follows Celia as she and Aric, a pure-blood werewolf relationship evolves while the supernatural world changes in response to the Demons presence.

There were some elements of this book that had me laughing – the girls attempt to seduce their wolves through posing, Taran and Gemini’s miscommunication, the banter between the sisters and their friends all made me smile and connect to the characters. This is needed as there are a lot of characters to remember! But I loved meeting and getting to know them – and I am looking to forward to some books or short stories following the other sisters point of view (please tell me they are coming at some point!). At the same time there are some exciting action scenes – the tracking in the woods was creepy and atmospheric while some of the fight scenes with the sisters various powers were very cinematic (I would love to see this series as a TV show – the ongoing drama would be fabulous!).

This is a step up from the first book -  which was strong itself and by the end I really didn’t want to leave Celia. The ending is not a cliff-hanger, but it should twist your heart and make you desperate for the months before the next book to speed by! This is definitely an UF I enjoyed and I can’t wait to see what is instore for our Weird Girls next!


Recommended for fans of Ann Aguirre and Suzanne Johnson. 9 out of 10!


*********************************

AUTHOR BIO:
Cecy (pronounced Sessy) Robson is an author with Penguin's SIGNET ECLIPSE. She attributes her passion for story-telling back to the rough New Jersey neighborhood she was raised in. As a child, she was rarely allowed to leave the safety of her house and passed her time fantasizing about flying, fairies, and things that go bump in the night. Gifted and cursed with an overactive imagination, she began writing her Urban Fantasy Romance Series, Weird Girls, in May 2009. THE WEIRD GIRLS: A Novella and SEALED WITH A CURSE are now available.  A CURSED EMBRACE, releases July 2, 2013 followed by A CURSED MOON: An eSpecial Novella December 2013, and CURSED BY DESTINY, January 2014.
 LINKS:
Website:                      www.cecyrobson.com
 Twitter:                       https://twitter.com/cecyrobsonand
 Facebook:                    http://www.facebook.com/Cecy.Robson.Author
 Goodreads:                 http://www.goodreads.com/goodreadscomCecyRobsonAuthor
Cecy has generously offered one person a wonderful goodie bag including a copy of A Cursed Embrace along with a rack card, A CURSED EMBRACE lip balm and magnet, a bookmark, and a signed postcard. (If the winner won on a previous blog, a different winner will be selected to be fair to all participants).

Open Internationally - just enter below via my first ever Rafflecopter ! Ends 30th June
a Rafflecopter giveaway

24 comments:

  1. *jumps up and down* wanna read wanna read!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Because I can't wait to read this!! Thank you for making it international giveaway :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Because I'm dying (really) for a SIGNED copy and that swag...since the blog tour started!! Gaaah, I still have my fingers crossed.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm glad you enjoyed it as well, it was a really fun book, can't wait for the next one!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I love this series and can't wait to read this book. I've been following the blog tour from day 1 hoping to win, so crosses fingers :). Great review.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Cause I really really really want to read this book now! Also I really want a signed copy cause I adore the series already!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I really love would to read this awesome book.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Thank you for the lovely review and feature, and to everyone who stopped by.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I would really love to read this series. I haven't yet. I have to go out and get the first. I also love swag. Thanks for this great giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  10. I'm actually new to Cece Robson's work, but I do love adding authors to my reading list. The series does look amazing.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I can't wait to read this book! Loved the first one!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I haven't read any of Cecy's books, yet, but this sounds like a great series.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Cos I'd love to read the book! The rest of the stuff in the Goodie Bag look pretty cool too :)

    ReplyDelete
  14. Id love to win because the books sound awesome. Love the swag too!!

    ReplyDelete
  15. This series sounds like something I'm going to LOVE! Three sisters with cool powers - sign me up! Great review & thanks so much for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  16. This book sounds amazing and I definitely want to give this book a try!

    ReplyDelete
  17. I am trying to win this book for my husband he is a big fan and I am about to starr the series. Since neither of us are working at the moment it will be awhile before we can afford this book.

    ReplyDelete
  18. Because I have book #1, read and love it, so I really deserve to win this! :)

    ReplyDelete
  19. I absolutely loved the first book and I cannot get enough of the sisters. They are amazing cahracters.

    ReplyDelete
  20. I loved the first one and I can't wait for the next one. Cecy Robson is an awesome author.

    ReplyDelete
  21. OMG!! I’ve been major fiending for this series ever since I read a couple excerpts from book one, especially the one where they were summoned to a court hearing in the beginning! I loved the individual and unique personalities of the sisters but even more so how their personalities work so well off each other.

    ReplyDelete
  22. Because this book has everything I love in my books with cool kick butt heroines Thanks for the giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
  23. Ah, yes. I've loved this one. And I was so swept up with them, I felt a bit incomplete for Celia.

    There is a short coming in December of Bren. :) I"m looking forward to it! :D

    ReplyDelete