Monday, 10 June 2013

Frost Burned (Mercy Thompson #7) Review

Frost Burned (Mercy Thompson #7)
Patricia Briggs

Publisher: Orbit

Mercy Thompson's life has undergone a seismic change. Becoming the mate of Adam Hauptman - the charismatic Alpha of the local werewolf pack - has made her a stepmother to his daughter Jesse, a relationship that brings moments of blissful normalcy to Mercy's life. But on the edges of humanity, a minor mishap on an ordinary day can turn into so much more. After an accident in bumper-to-bumper traffic, Mercy and Jesse can't reach Adam - or anyone else in the pack for that matter. They've all been abducted. Through their mating bond, all Mercy knows is that Adam is angry and in pain. Outclassed and on her own, Mercy may be forced to seek assistance from the most unlikely of allies: the vampire seethe.

When I think back to the Mercy Thompson we met in Moon Called who was a very isolated and independent girl, it’s a very different woman who still manages to kick-butt in Frost Burned but has a wide selection of friends, family and pack to support her. In Frost Burned Adam and the rest of the pack are kidnapped and it’s up to Mercy to protect those left behind.

Mercy has help from some powerful friends but she also has those who could end up in trouble from their relationship with her. It was great seeing how these relationships have developed and evolved – and I have to say it was great to see all characters I loved from the previous books show up after the two-hander that was River Marked. Mercy has definitely become someone who will fight for those she loves and it was just as nice to see the softer side of her as well. For the first time a couple of chapters are told from Adam’s point of view and this insight into his head is a nice way of expanding the world and allowing us into a werewolf’s head. I also loved the visit of a wolf from the Martocks pack that we’ve met in the Alpha & Omega series!

There is plenty of action with fae, wolves, vampires and humans all getting some action. The impact of the fae action at the end of Fair Game, the Alpha and Omega novel is touched on but the full repercussions are still being discussed – which gives the feel that this world is much bigger than just Mercy, Adam and the pack. The writing just pulls you in and doesn’t let go until the end as first the actions and then the reasons behind them are teased out and played with. Who are the true monsters?

This is one of the most consistent UF series and one of my favourites with a leading lady who you root for as well as a knack of getting into more trouble than a coyote really should. But when her friends and family are this good I just want to spend more time with this world. How long until the next book...?

Recommended for fans of Kelley Armstrong and Nicole Peeler. 9 out of 10


  1. I liked it, just not as much as the previous books. Still much better than River

  2. I figured out I'm still needing to read the 3rd book! I love this series even with only the first 2 read. So behind!! Oh and I just got one of the books in this series for a great sale. You know I'll be reading it soon. Can't wait to get caught up to this one!

  3. I really really need to read this one, I can't wait and I hope I'll like it as much as you did.

  4. I've enjoyed this book too, Mel! However her latest Alpha and Omega book was actually miles better. Have you read it?