Monday, 15 April 2013

Early Review: Hot Blooded

Hot Blooded (Jessica McClain #2)
Amanda Carlson

Publisher: Orbit – to be released 23rd April 2013

E-Arc Courtesy of Netgalley and Hachette Books

It hasn't been the best week for Jessica McClain.
Her mate has been kidnapped by a Goddess hell-bent on revenge --- but Jessica is playing for keeps. Because she's the only female werewolf in comes with its own set of rules...and powers.
Aided by two vamps, two loyal Pack members, and one very reluctant human, Jessica must rescue her man while coming to terms with what being a wolf really means.
All in a day's work for a girl.

If the first book in this series, Full Blooded was fast paced, then this second book was Usain Bolt on skates, going downhill. Wow. There is little time for Jess or any of her friends to catch their breath as she, her brother, Tyler and their pack-mate Danny head off to rescue her mate, Rourke from the crazy goddess Selene. The only help they have are two tracking vampires and a police detective, Jess is trying to save now he knows about the supernatural world. The story is relentless action while at the same time exploring Jess’s new abilities and what makes her different (apart from being the only female werewolf of course!)

I loved Jess’s determination and how much she cares for others. Her care for Ray despite their troubled history was a nice insight into her personality especially as other supernaturals never really gave him much thought. Her growing friendship with the vampire, Naomi also shows her willing to rethink the inbuilt prejudice many supernaturals have. The relationship between Jess and Rourke feels a little more natural this time (it was a little too insta-love previously) and I really liked the way Jess’s powers are different from anything else in this world without making her too isolated. She already has family, friends, a mate and her own thoughts and opinions.

The action is frenetic and involving with each new challenge different and distinct. Jess doesn’t back down no matter what is thrown at her. At the same time she learns more about vampires in general and Naomi in particular, which helps give a wider perspective of what Jess could mean to the wider supernatural world and not just the wolves. I was hooked right from the beginning and never bored as Jess fought and thought her way to Rourke. While there is a nicely contained story here, the wider arc is not neglected and the ending will certainly have you wishing the next book, Cold Blooded was out much sooner than October!

Recommended for fans of Patricia Briggs and Jaye Wells. 9 out of 10


  1. Yay! I really liked this one as well, I can't wait to read the third!

  2. I am to 85% point on galley of book 1 and if had not been out and about all weekend would have finished both Full Blooded and Hot Blooded this weekend, AWESOME good reading!

  3. It was a bit of insta love in the first one, but I also thought it was explained well enough. I hate it when there is no supernatural explanation for it. :) Still, I was so sad there was so little Rourke. *sniff* I really want to know that character! I also can't wait for the 3rd!

  4. I want my grabby mits on this one

  5. Haha, yes, I have to agree with the roller skates and down hill. :D This was a fast paced read. So glad you loved it! :D

  6. Yay! I loved it too and I still can't get those scary goats out of my head *shudders*

  7. It was a gorgeous book! So glad you enjoyed it, Mel! :)