Friday, 5 April 2013

The Revenge of Eli Monpress Review

The Revenge of Eli Monpress (Spirit’s War & Spirit’s End – Eli Monpress #4 & #5)
Rachel Aaron

Publisher: Orbit

Eli Monpress is vain. He's cocky. And he's a thief.
But he's a thief who has just seen his bounty topped and he's not happy about it. The bounty topper, as it turns out, is his best friend and master swordsman, Josef. He's been keeping secrets from Eli. Apparently, he's the only prince of a rather feisty country, and he's been ordered to come home to do his duty. This means throwing over personal ambitions like proving he's the greatest swordsman who ever lived.
Family drama aside, Eli and Josef have their hands full. The Spirit Court has been usurped by the Council of Thrones and someone calling herself the Immortal Empress is staging a massive invasion. But it's not just politics - the Immortal Empress has a specific target in mind: Eli Monpress, the greatest thief in the world.

*Sigh* I have a massive crush on Eli Monpress. He just charms me with every adventure, every outrageous scheme, every wink. I adore Miranda’s stubbornness to stick to her morals no matter what. I love Josef and Nicco’s loyalty to each other and Eli. I love the idea of objects and elements having spirits, thoughts and opinions. I just love this series and I’m so sad that it has come to an end. That one of the reasons I’ve been holding off reading this for so long as I didn’t want it to end. But what an end! Wow! I already read and reviewed Spirit’s War when that came out on kindle last year (read it here) so this review is just for the final book – Spirit’s End.

Spirit’s End is how all fantasy series should end – with the stakes higher than ever before, with each character getting a chance to shine, with each subplot and question answered and the world never being the same as it was before! After the devastation and upheavals of Spirit’s War, things don’t get any easier here with the Shepherdess finally getting her hands on Eli, the Demons outside still scratching their way into the world and the Spirit Court divided. Some of the book is taken up with tying the loose ends from Spirit’s War, with Josef’s island still devastated and in need of recovery and the Spirit’s Court’s refusal to go to war for the Council of Thrones also has consequences. Nothing is forgotten and there are consequences for everyone from their actions.

While the stakes are higher than ever before, Rachel Aaron has retained the joyful banter between characters and Eli can always raise a smile or two no matter what is happening. With the world altering events, these light touches enable the story to balance the dark and light. The characters are all true to themselves – and for most of the final 250 pages I could barely breathe as it felt like there was one climax after another. I kept thinking it couldn’t get any more tense – and then it did! This has been one of my favourite Fantasy series I’ve ever read with a delightful balance of character, plot and world-building that manages to hit all the right notes for frantic fun and deadly consequences.

While I will miss Eli and co and can see the possibility for more adventures in this world, I’m happy with where we end. Plus I’m really looking forward to Rachel Aaron’s next story! I think this series gets stronger with every book and only having five books means it’s not as overwhelming a fantasy series such as The Wheel of Time. Go on, give it a go! The books get better and better as you get to know the characters and the wider world is explored. But remember Eli is mine! J

Recommended for fans of Patricia Briggs and Scott Lynch. 10 out of 10 


  1. I couldn't breathe for the last half of the book either.
    So intense!

  2. This sounds so great! I have read the first and have the omnibus of the first 3 on my tbr. Love that this one is #4 AND 5. So need to get it too. Might have to read it just so he can steal his way into MY harem... ;)

  3. I ws just not blown away by book 1 :/

  4. *scowls* Eli is NOT yours! Not while I'm still around to drool over his omnibus covers! (Eli, you love me best, right? ...Right? C'mon, please, the Lord of Storms won't have me.)

    Whoo, baby, "Spirit's End" -- that book had me right where it wanted me for *days* after reading it. People need to read this series if only for the grand finale! Rachel Aaron is my literary hero!

    My more complete rant-and-rave session here:

  5. Ga! *Throws hands up* Ga! I need to get these. I thought my piles were clearing and they are stacking up once again. Dang, I need to get here!!! :D