Monday, 7 February 2011

Whisper of the Witch Review

Whisper of the Witch (Savannah Coven 1)
-       Suza Kates
Kindle Book
A Choice
Shauni Miller has no idea why her life is changing, but she must answer when an unknown force summons her to a mystical island. She also harbors a secret, one that has the potential to alter her life forever. If she chooses to share it.
A Deception
Dr. Michael Black helps Shauni in her time of need, but sees more in the raven-haired temptress than she ever meant to reveal. He knows she’s hiding something, but then, so is he.
A Prediction
Both Shauni and Michael have a role to play and decisions to make as a centuries-old prophecy unfolds. Only the fates know if they are meant to be together. Or if one of them has to die.
I picked this up fancying a little romance and some supernatural adventures and this book delivers exactly that! Nine women with various gifts are suddenly drawn to Savannah only to discover they are witches and the nine of them are the only ones standing between a demon and his followers destroying the world. At first with so many characters introduced at once – not just the nine witches but also some of the help around the house, bad guys and not forgetting the love interest – I was a little overwhelmed with names and figuring out who was who. However, this soon settled down as the story progressed. The women are all different and as they get to know each other, so do we. A couple stand out for particularly Kylie, Anna and Paige and one or two others probably get short changed slightly but I assume they’ll all end up with their own book and we’ll get to know them then.
Shauni is the heroine of this book and comes across well despite all the world building and background information that also has to be told. She’s strong, cares about others and animals but doesn’t believe in violence as the answer. Michael as her love interest is a strong, yummy vet who just wants her to be honest with him. My major drawback was I felt the book could have been a little longer as I wanted Shauni and Michael to spend more time together getting to know each other, but hopefully they’ll appear in future books in the series. The big finale involving Shauni’s test was a little underwhelming but I liked the way the hero and heroine’s roles were turned on their head.  
This a fun paranormal romance with some fantastic scenery and interesting characters – this could be a series to watch – as long as it doesn’t get too repetitive!
Recommended for fans of Heather Graham and CT Adams and Cathy Clamp. 7 out of 10


  1. Hmm . . . sounds interesting. Might be worth picking up. Thanks.

  2. Oh this sounds like a fun paranormal! Looks like I'll be adding another series to the ol' wishlist! :)