Wednesday, 8 June 2011

Married with Zombies Review

Married With Zombies
-       Jesse Petersen
Publisher: UK – Simon and Schuster
Meet Sarah and David. Sarah and David are like any other couple. They met, they fell in love, but now they're on the verge of divorce. On a routine trip to the marriage counsellor, they notice a few odd things -- the lack of cars on the road, the missing security guard, and the fact that their counsellor, Dr Kelly, is ripping out her previous client's throat. Meet the zombies. Now, Sarah and David are fighting for survival in the middle of the zombie apocalypse. But just because there are zombies, it doesn't mean your other problems go away. And if the zombies don't eat their brains, they might just kill each other.
Zombie’s are new obsession of mine – I only discovered I liked them a year ago. Most of the books I’ve read since, have been set after the zombie uprising – either a few months or at least decade later. This book is different in that it is set firmly during the zombie apocalypse. Sarah and David turn up for yet another marriage counselling session only to find their counsellor is eating her previous clients. From then on it’s a matter of survival for this couple who had discovered that lives had taken a drastic turn from their happy ever after plan.
There is plenty of marital sniping at each other which will be familiar to anyone who has ever been in a long term relationship – everything from leaving the toilet seat up to forgetting to fill up on gas, can and does cause tension between the two of them. Adding to the issue are the zombies of former neighbours and friends, extreme religious groups and various other obstacles as Sarah and David discover that surviving zombies can be a marriage survival technique. It’s fast paced, feels realistic – how else to survive than to raid your knowledge of zombie films like Dawn of the Dead and Zombieland? And it’s unusual to discover a hero couple who have been together years and it certainly brought a different point of view to the story – a point of view I found refreshing.
This is a fun, fresh and amusing read that I zoomed through and enjoyed. While this doesn’t ask the big questions about what being human truly means like a number of other zombie books, it does ask what does being married really mean?
Recommended for fans of Shaun of the Dead and Jasper Fforde. 7.5 out of 10.

6 comments:

  1. Sounds pretty funny! Thanks for the thoughtful and insightful review. I found you through the Small Blogs Big Giveaway blog hop and am now a new follower.
    Laurie
    Laurie's Thoughts & Reviews

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hihi, I liked that movie ;) and Jasper Fforde is funny so I can see what you are gtting at

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh I have this one on my tbr and have been wanting to get to it. So glad it is good.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I have this one on reading pile- it looks like a lot of fun :D

    ReplyDelete
  5. So the couple who fights Zombies together, stays together! Love the concept. I remember seeing this book around a while back. I'll definitely give it a go soon.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I really want to read this one! glad you liked it!

    ReplyDelete