Wednesday, 15 June 2011

Shady Lady Review + GIVEAWAY!!!

Shady Lady (Corine Solomon 3)
-          Ann Aguirre

Publisher: UK – Gollancz

Whenever Corine Solomon touches an object, she immediately knows its history. But her own future concerns her more and more. Now back in Mexico, she's running her pawnshop and trying to get a handle on her strange new powers, for she might need them. And soon. Then former ally Kel Ferguson walks through her door. Heavily muscled and tattooed, Kel looks like a convict but calls himself a holy warrior. This time, he carries a warning for Corine: the Montoya cartel is coming for her - but they don't just pack automatic weapons. The Montoyas use warlocks, shamans, voodoo priests - anything to terminate trouble. And Corine has become enemy number one . . .

This is the third book featuring Corine Solomon and we learn more about her gifts and how they’ve changed after her recent adventures. And poor Corine. She’s put through hell once again here as the Montoya cabel has her firmly targeted after helping her ex, Chance rescue his Mother from them. She stands to loose everything. The stakes are really high for Corine and throughout it does feel as if everything is at risk.

Corine is a great character – she’s strong and when faced with tough decisions she sometimes has to choose the lesser of two evils. It’s the shades of grey that I love as Corine makes some truly difficult decisions here in order to survive. The rest of the characters are great with Jesse the cop/potential love interest, Shannon who can call ghosts on her radio, and of course, Butch the hyper-intelligent dog. In addition we learn more about Kel, God’s right hand, a warrior who thinks god is directing him and the relationship that develops between him and Corine is very sweet. The relationship between Shannon and Corine is fantastic as they refuse to leave each other. And conspicuous by his absence, Chance is hardly present but lends a shadow over the whole story.

This is dark, gritty Urban Fantasy with your main character no sweet innocent. There are definitely shades of darkness that leave you emotionally drained. By the end I was in tears as Corine had been through so much. I really want to know what happens next to Corine and if I could I would reach out and give her a big hug. If you haven’t tried series, do! Start with Blue Diablo and then Hell Fire as it makes the emotions here all the more poignant and moving.

Recommended for fans of Laura Bickle and Jennifer Estep. 9 out of 10


I liked Shady Lady so much so I'm offering a copy to one lucky person.
This is open internationally (as long as The Book Depository ships there) and ends Sunday 19th June. What do you have to do? Just fill in the form below - simples! :-)



  1. Greatrefiew and of course awesome giveaway, I'd love to read this book! Thanks for making this international!


  2. Sounds like you really enjoyed it! Thanks for the giveaway! :)

  3. Would love to enter but nope, need book 2 first ;)
    But yay that this one is good. I did enjoy book 1

  4. Urban fantasy? Good heroine? I'm in!! This does sound good even if I haven't read the first. ;) Never threw me before. lol

  5. I am in. I love Ann Aguirre's writing! I am finishing her space opera series (Sirantha Jax) and I am impressed! And I am with Melissa - I might start in the middle!

  6. Thanks for the giveaway! Great cover.

  7. Aaaaaa, so glad you enjoyed it! And now can't wait for book 4! lol.

    Melissa (Books&Things) - You soooooo, have to get this series. I've been telling you about it for a while with Ann Aguirre. ;) YOu will love it.

  8. Thanks for the giveaway! This book sounds awesome! I'm your newest follower!

    If paranormal romance interests you please check out my friend @