Friday, 10 June 2011

Tomorrow's Guardian Review

Tomorrow’s Guardian (Hourglass Institute 1)
-          Richard Denning
Kindle Book
Time Travel sounds like fun ... until you try it. In the case of Tom Oakley he discovers the perils and challenges that time travel brings. He must choose how to use his talents - for self gain, to dominate others or to protect his world.
When I first started reading this I thought it was going to be a simple school boy time travel adventure with a villainous bad guy and too good to be true good guys. Instead I found a layered mystery with a sophisticated use of the time travel and parallel world theory that draws you in. It was subtle at first as the story progresses from Tom noticing small things going wrong to controlling his powers and finally making tough choices.
I loved the time travel aspect – it’s always been a big favourite of mine and the clever it’s introduced and developed without getting too technical is great. I loved the additional characters Tom discovers and bonds with in his journey – despite differences in their ages and backgrounds. The plot moves at a cracking pace, and doesn’t hesitate to ask the big questions – what would you do to safe guard the future? How much would you sacrifice? At the same time there are huge battles, fires, terrorists, concentration camps and mysterious, shadowy figures who’s agenda in unknown. I had great fun as Denning constantly played with my expectations and created a thrilling adventure for everyone.
While the writing is aimed more at early teen age group, there is plenty for the young at heart of all ages to enjoy and I’m looking to catching up with Tom and his friends in the sequel, Yesterday’s Treasures.
Recommended for fans of Tomorrow, When the War Began and Tamora Pierce. 8 out of 10.


  1. I love time-travel too :D I sure wanna do it, but it does bring lots of questions too. What happens if you change something. LOl

  2. Ooh, I'm glad you enjoyed this one Mel. A layered mystery - yes that's exactly it! I couldn't find the words to explain that. Great!

    Yesterdays Treasures is my next up to read and I'm looking forward to it. A bit of a change from mermaids and vampires :-)

  3. That is why I would never want to actually time travel, too much responsibility. Sounds interesting. I'm curious about the book!

  4. Oh I'm so glad you enjoyed this book! Sounds like a great fun read. :) Thank you