Wednesday, 24 October 2012

Black Dust Mambo Review

Black Dust Mambo (Hoodoo #1)
-       Adrian Phoenix

Publisher: Pocket Books
Kallie Riviere, a fiery Cajun hoodoo apprentice with a talent for trouble, finds herself smack-dab in the middle of one of those times her mentor warned her about when she visits New Orleans to attend the Hecatean Alliance's annual carnival: her hard-bodied conjurer hookup ends up dead in her blood-drenched bed. And he was killed by something that Kallie would never dream of touching -- the darkest of dark juju, soul-eating juju -- a black dust hex that may have been meant to kill her. Now Kallie has to use every bit of hoodoo knowledge and bayou-bred mojo she possesses to clear her own name and find the killer -- even as that dark sorcerer hunts Kallie and her friends. But Kallie's search for the truth soon leads her in a direction she never anticipated -- back home to Bayou Cypres Noir, and to Gabrielle LaRue, Kallie's aunt, protector, and hoodoo mentor . . . who is looking more and more like she just might be the one who wants Kallie dead...

I think I need to bow to your better wisdom! This was the winner of my What Shall I Read Poll for October and once again you picked a cracker and a book I have been undeservedly been overlooking on my shelves. You obviously have better taste than I do!

Set in New Orleans during a magical carnival (for those with actual magic naturally!), this books leaps out of the blocks from the first page and throws a fantastic variety of interesting characters, absorbing mysteries, fascinating magic systems and intriguing culture clashes at you. Somehow it never feels overwhelming – helped by some amusing banter between characters – but rarely lets you catch your breath as you are whisked away on a fun adventure ride.

Kallie has just returned from the bathroom after her excesses of the night have caught up with her when she finds the man she brought home dead in her bed. Kallie is one feisty lady – more than happy to punch people and with some interesting voodoo powers. One element I loved was the mix of characters both male and female. I get a little frustrated with strong women in my UF who never met another woman (unless it’s the token bad girl/rival for her man). There are enough men and women – all with different characters and personality traits that creates plenty of conflict and interesting relationship dynamics – I loved them all. I loved Belladonna, Kallie’s best friend who always has her back, I love McKenna, the spirited Irish nomad, I loved Felicity Fields the Miss Money-Penny assistant to the head of the Hecatean Alliance. They are all strong women but with different personalities and aspects. Throw in a few hunky men including one handsome biker Vessel and there is loads of fun to be having.

The plot follows a few different characters across the investigation which does lead to some great cliff-hangers and tense moments. The writing is so smooth – it feels like a warming hot rich hot chocolate that warms you up on a cold autumn night – tasty and more-ish. I honest can’t wait to read the next book in this series! I urge all UF fans to read this book as soon as you can!

Recommended for fans of Ilona Andrews and Meljean Brooks. 10 out of 10


  1. i hope i will have an opportunity to read this one soon, after your review i can't wait to get it

    thank you

  2. woohoo, fab review and what a rating, Mel! I can't wait to see what you would think of the second book :) Did you read Adrian's other series as well?

  3. This is one of the UFs I have been wanting to get to and now I know why! AH! Sounds like a delicious drink of a book!

  4. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAh now I need to read it! it's terrible!

  5. Wow! wow! Um, okay, I have been wanting this series, and I think I just need to get it. Wow! Great to hear. :D