Monday, 15 July 2013

Odd Interlude (Odd Thomas #4.5) Review

Odd Interlude (Odd Thomas #4.5)
Dean Koontz

Publisher: Harper

Nestled on a lonely stretch along the Pacific coast, quaint roadside outpost Harmony Corner offers everything a weary traveler needs--a cozy diner, a handy service station, a cluster of cottages . . . and the Harmony family homestead presiding over it all. But when Odd Thomas and company stop to spend the night, they discover that there's more to this secluded haven than meets the eye--and that between life and death, there is something more frightening than either. 

Originally published as some e-book shorts, all three parts of Odd Interlude have been collected together and published in traditional form here. Set immediately after Odd Hours, this sees Odd and Annamaria stop at a motel which has harboured refugees before...and worse.

I love Dean Koontz book – they are warm and familiar and I always know that no matter perils and tribulations are thrown at our hero, he will overcome and survive. They are like an ice cream sundae on a warm day – delicious and to be eaten quickly before it melts. This is no exception and I loved catching up with Odd again. I admit to being a little behind with Odd’s adventures but this short book caught be up quickly and re-introduced me to Odds humble bravery and quirky sense of humour. That’s another element I love about Koontz’s books – despite the fast pace, there is plenty of joy. Sometimes it’s wry observations on the ridiculousness of humanity and sometimes there is some physical humour.

Odd encounters a variety of people who have been living under a curse for a long time, something related to a refugee from Moonlight Bay. Those who read Dean books might recognise Moonlight Bay as the home town of Christopher Snow, another character of Dean’s that we haven’t visited for a while. However, you really don’t need to read any other books before picking this up – this a pure standalone adventure that will whet your appetite if you’ve not read Dean Koontz before and a happy catch-up if you have. A great adventure which covers horror, science-fiction, gentle humour, ghosts and thriller. Highly recommended!

Recommended for fans of James Rollins and Kelley Armstrong. 9 out of 10


  1. That is a lot of genres into one

  2. I haven't read him yet. I don't know why. I've even had him recommended to me by those that don't love to read! I either might have to start with this series or even this book!

  3. I have book 1 in French and I really need to try it!

  4. I've only read the first in this series - but I loved it, I even own the next three LOL and just haven't gotten around to them.