Monday, 26 September 2011

Audiobook: The Spirit Thief Review

The Spirit Thief (The Legend of Eli Monpress 1)
-   Rachel Aaron

Publisher: UK - Orbit

Performed by Luke Daniels

Eli Monpress is talented. He's charming. And he's a thief. But not just any thief. He's the greatest thief of the age - and he's also a wizard. And with the help of his partners - a swordsman with the most powerful magic sword in the world but no magical ability of his own, and a demonseed who can step through shadows and punch through walls - he's going to put his plan into effect. The first step is to increase the size of the bounty on his head, so he'll need to steal some big things. But he'll start small for now. He'll just steal something that no one will miss - at least for a while. Like a king.

I first read The Spirit Thief a few months ago so for Eli Monpress week rather then re-read it I thought I would listen to the audio book. So I was able to spend 8 hours and 19 minutes of unabridged re-introduction to this fascinating world...

The Spirit Thief is a fun romp of a fantasy novel. It’s an action orientated adventure with a charming but mysterious leading man and his equally mysterious companions. Most of the story is told through the point of view of Miranda, a ‘good’ wizard who is trying to catch Eli for ruining the reputation of the Spirit Court with his thieving ways. Eli’s character, past and motivations remain shrouded in mystery but tantalisingly teasing the listener (reader). The only thing he seems focused on is increasing the bounty on his head. In comparison Miranda is driven by her honour and morals – she comes over as a strong moral character, capable and intelligent. Her interactions with her ghosthound are a joy to read and I hope that she continues to follow in Eli’s footprints for some time to come in order to keep him on his toes!

One of my favourite things about listening to this first story in the series again was Luke Daniels performance of the characters. To me, he nailed Eli’s voice – his charm and confidence as well as his focus on what he wants. And I won’t be able to read about Gin the ghosthound any more without hearing that gruff voice! Luke’s performance was great – each character was individual and I really felt he added to the basic story by giving depth and layers to the plot.

The system of magic Rachel Aaron has created seems different (to me at least!) with everything having a spirit – not just living things such as trees and animals but also rope, stone, rivers, fire. The wizards have the ability to talk to spirits and ask them to help. Eli particularly seems good at gaining helps from spirits – in the first scene he charms the prison door into opening for him! The system isn’t explored in detail as it is normal to these characters - but the abuse of spirits becomes an important point – is it right for humans to inflict their own will on other spirit’s souls? Mostly though the story is a variety of heists, fights and magical battles as Eli races around the kingdom of Mellinor causing trouble – and it is a lot of fun. I got caught up in the excitement and had a huge grin on my face at many of Eli’s antics. My one niggle is that I was left wanting to know more about Eli and his companions – I didn’t feel like I knew them that much more by the end than I did at the beginning. It did leave me desperate to move straight onto the second book! J

In the end The Spirit Thief is like a Caesar salad  - a great start to the meal that whets your appetite for more but not quite enough on its own. And luckily I have the next two book reviews for you later in the week! J

Recommended for fans of David Eddings and Peter V Brett. 8.5 out of 10


  1. I like the idea of the elements having spirits. That does sound like a different take on magic. Good to know you enjoyed to book so much that you wanted to try the audiobook too!

  2. I've heard great thing about this book, I'm glad you like it ! It sounds really nice, thanks for the review

  3. This comment has been removed by the author.

  4. I like the magic system, sounds cool and new :) And the book is on my wishlist, and I am glad to finally know a bit more about it

  5. Oh I enjoyed this one as well. I would have loved to hear this audiobook. I really am curious as to how Eli would sound with that actor. I'm going to see if my library happens to have this audio! I must know! :D

  6. Oh this is one series I want to get. I just haven't done so yet. It sounds like one I would really love. :) Thanks for the wonderful Review!!! And reminder I need this one. :D

  7. This sounds like a really good series and it hasn't even been on my radar, thanks for the introduction I will be adding it to my TBR list now.