Wednesday, 19 October 2011

Succubus Revealed Review

Succubus Revealed (Georgina Kincaid 6)
-       Richelle Mead
Publisher: UK – Bantam Books
Georgina Kincaid has had an eternity to figure out the opposite sex, but sometimes they still surprise her. Take Seth Mortensen. The man has risked his soul to become Georgina's boyfriend. Still, with Lucifer for a boss, Georgina can't just hang up her killer heels and settle down to domestic bliss. In fact, she's being forced to transfer operations… to Las Vegas. The City of Sin is a dream gig for a succubus, but Georgina's allies are suspicious. Why are the powers-that-be so eager to get her away from Seattle—and from Seth? Georgina is one of Hell's most valuable assets, but if there's any way out of the succubus business she plans to take it—no matter how much roadkill she leaves behind. She just hopes the casualties won't include the one man she's risking everything for...
Succubus Blues, the first Georgina Kincaid book was the first Richelle Mead book I ever read and one of my favourite UF series. So it was with mixed feelings I picked up Succubus Revealed, the last book in the series as I was desperate to see if there was a happy ending for Georgina and Seth, but at the same time I didn’t want the journey to be over. I needn’t have worried as Richelle has produced the perfect final book.
Georgina is being transferred to Las Vegas – a succubus’s dream gig, but it means that she has to leave Seth behind. This time the focus is on Georgina and Seth as they work at their relationship and realise that Hell has been playing a very deep game with them.
I think this is the slimmest of the Succubus series, and one of the most character driven, but for anyone who has been following Seattle’s succubus there is much to savour. There are some great scenes with Seth’s family – particularly the nieces, which are very sweet without being saccharine and you finally get to see how much Georgina’s hellish friends care for her. Between Roman, Hugh and Carter, I can’t help by feel envious that she has such good friends!
I gobbled up this book like it was a bar of my favourite chocolate – smooth writing, delicious plot and a yummy long lasting aftertaste. I actually cried at least twice while reading as events unfolded and yet I wouldn’t swap them for anything. This series is not the most action orientated Urban Fantasy series out there but it has one of the most satisfying story arcs while leaving each book a satisfactory stand alone story. All past events are linked into this book and I have to believe that Richelle has the series planned in advanced – either that or she has a marvellous method of tying everything together at the last minute! J
Recommended for fans of Rachel Vincent and Kelley Armstrong. 9.5 out of 10.


  1. Another series that I should start, but have not for some see if it is on my wishlist. But it is so late now so I will surely forget

  2. I'm a bit afraid to read this one. I love this series, but have disliked Seth from the start I'll confess. Carter is my hero.

  3. What is so bad is that I'm not sure if it is this one or if it was another succubus series that I started somewhere in the middle. I enjoyed it. Nothing here sounds familar. Looks like I'm adding this author to the series wishlist!