Friday, 18 November 2011

Joint Review: Forgive My Fins

Today I have an experiment for you. My regular cinema buddy and guest reviewer Sarah and I have decided to try to do a joint review – it’s our first attempt so bear with us! The book we’ve decided to review if Forgive My Fins…

Forgive My Fins
- Tara Lyn Childs

Publisher: UK - Templar

Lily Sanderson has a secret, and it’s not that she has a huge crush on gorgeous swimming god Brody Bennett, who makes her heart beat flipper-fast. Unrequited love is hard enough when you’re a normal teenage girl, but when you’re half human, half mermaid like Lily, there’s no such thing as a simple crush. Lily’s mermaid identity is a secret that can’t get out, since she’s not just any mermaid – she’s a Thalassinian princess. When Lily found out three years ago that her mother was actually a human, she finally realized why she didn’t feel quite at home in Thalassinia, and she’s been living on land and going to Seaview high school ever since, hoping to find where she truly belongs. Sure, land has its problems – like her obnoxious, biker boy neighbor Quince Fletcher – but it has that one major perk – Brody. The problem is, mermaids aren’t really the casual dating type – when they “bond,” it’s for life. When Lily’s attempt to win Brody’s love leads to a tsunami-sized case of mistaken identity, she is in for a tidal wave of relationship drama, and she finds out, quick as a tailfin flick, that happily-ever-after never sails quite as smoothly as you planned.

Mel: Forgive My Fins is about a teenaged mermaid, Lily who has spent the last three years living on land in order to learn more about her mother who was human. She does all the usual teenaged things – gossip with her best, have a crush on a boy, rivalry with her annoying neighbor and of course has a bath where she can transform her legs into a tail. In that respect it reminded a little of the Splash film from the 80s with Daryl Hannah and Tom Hanks…

Sarah: Me too!  Now, I read quite a lot of YA books, and Forgive My Fins doesn't really step off the beaten track in terms of storyline, but I don't know about you Mel, but I really liked Lily.  Her ocean-themed insults are brilliant, and she's a wonderfully feisty character who makes a LOT of mistakes.  So many in fact, that she makes my teenage years seem relatively smooth (I can predict Mel is squawking a 'what? like hell' at the computer screen right now!).  And, is it really wrong of me to fancy the boy-lead, Quince (even if he does have a ridiculous name....)?

Mel: I have to agree that her nautical insults are fantastic -and very easy to pick up -  I nearly called someone a blowfish today! Lily's mistakes are numerous and I thought she was very naive a lot of time - especially with regards to her crush, Brody. I was shocked at one point when Lily reminded me that she was nearly eighteen as I thought she was acting more like a fifteen year old - but this can be explained by her upbringing as a mermaid! But Quince was definitely good crush material! He was so manly, understandable and swoonsome! :-)

Sarah: Ok, so now I'm a little concerned at us both swooning over a fictitious eighteen year old...  I also loved Tera Child's underwater world - lovely descriptions with a hefty dose of inventiveness.  My criticisms though?  Quince, and especially best friend Shannen, accept the 'Lily is a mermaid' revelation WAY too easily - come on, it's meant to be set in our world, if someone told me they were a mermaid I'd be smiling and nodding whilst reaching for the straightjacket.  Saying 'oh yeah, you do use a lot of nautical words' really isn't a convincing explanation for immediate acceptance!

Mel: But some of us do try and leave the straightjacket at home for our crazy friends whenever possible! ;-) I agree everyone seemed to accept the mermaid bt easily - and with little proof (no showing off her tail to prove it). But the writing was so easy and the banter between characters such fun that I never really questioned it much - until now! The underwater scenes are great - although I was wondering how they kept things on tables - especially food at mealtimes. But the city and rituals are inventive. Overall, I really 'swam' through the pages of the book (sorry - you have to give me at least one pun!) and had a lot of fun.

Sarah: Definitely - it's a wonderfully pacy book that's very easy to read and keeps you interested right to the very end.  All in all, nothing ground breaking, but definitely worth a read.  One for fans of Lili St Crow and Kelley Armstrong's YA series, 7.5 out of 10 from me.

Mel: I'd recommend for fans of Tamora Pierce and Lauren Kate. 7 out of 10.


  1. This book sounds so interesting, and honestly this cover makes me want to read this, im not that into the other book cover edition. Don't know why but the way you described it reminds me of Aquamarine :D

    nice review!

    - juhina

  2. I really liked Forgive My Fins and also your idea to write a joint review:)

  3. I do not think I would accept something like that easily, i want proof! Fins please

  4. Hee hee.. I was thinking if you were in South Carolina if you called someone a Blowfish they wouldn't mind (Hootie and the Blowfish are from there! LOL). I want to read this! I mean mermaids! Do I need any more reasons to read it??? ;D

    btw, love the joint review gals!

  5. Everybody's reaction to Lily's mermaid-ness is pretty funny, but it's in keeping with the overall light tone of the book. Nothing in it is serious or heavy, so the "Oh! OK." reactions fit.

  6. This book isn't for me, but I loved your joint review! :)