Friday, 1 June 2012

Closed Hearts Review + GIVEAWAY

Closed Hearts (Mindjacker Trilogy 2)
-       Susan Kaye Quinn

E-Arc Received Courtesy of the author – this did not influence my review!

When you control minds, only your heart can be used against you.
Eight months ago, Kira Moore revealed to the mindreading world that mindjackers like herself were hidden in their midst. Now she wonders if telling the truth was the right choice after all. As wild rumors spread, a powerful anti-jacker politician capitalizes on mindreaders’ fears and strips jackers of their rights. While some jackers flee to Jackertown—a slum rife with jackworkers who trade mind control favors for cash—Kira and her family hide from the readers who fear her and jackers who hate her. But when a jacker Clan member makes Kira’s boyfriend Raf collapse in her arms, Kira is forced to save the people she loves by facing the thing she fears most: FBI agent Kestrel and his experimental torture chamber for jackers.

This book leaps straight into the action and barely pauses for breath throughout! Following on from Open Minds this sees how the world has reacted to the existence of Mindjackers – people who can control others in the world of ‘regular’ mind readers. Needless to say most people are paranoid and don’t trust others who can jack them and play with their memories. Kira struggles to continue a ‘normal’ life in the aftermath of the revelations she exposed and when Malloy, one of the mindjackers she betrayed in Open Minds returns, she finds herself swept up with revolutionary mindjackers, with abilities as powerful as hers and the government who want to crack down on all jackers.

Kira is in a difficult position – she doesn’t trust a lot of jackers, but she doesn’t believe the government should experiment on them either. This is  not an easy world with right and wrong clearly defined but with plenty of shades of grey which Kira finds herself struggling to balance. Yes, taking rights away from jackers is wrong, but should jackers be allowed to play with others? It’s a fine line and one that Kira waivers over throughout the book as she is pushed and pulled between jackers, government and her desire for a normal life with her family and the boy she loves, Raf.

There is plenty of double crossing as loyalties appear to be fluid with the betrayers betrayed and at times you never who to trust. All these events happen over a very short period – a week and the pace never lets up. Kira’s father places a bigger role this time round and there are plenty of intriguing new characters introduced – Julian and his sister Anna, particularly leave me wanting to know more about their past and what their plans are.

The writing is smooth and I was fully immersed in Kira’s world – one word of warning though, there is little introduction to the world. It is assumed that you know are aware of the events of Open Minds and have some idea of the world Kira lives in. Even the language like mesh, jack certainly gives this futuristic Chicago a different flavour but might confuse you if you aren't aware. It is a fun ride and I gobbled up the pages wanting to know what will happen next! Can't wait for the third book in thsi trilogy!

Recommended for fans of Veronica Rossi and Jeri Smith-Ready. 8.5 out of 10


Do you fancy a copy of Closed Hearts for yourself? Or  have you yet to start the fabulousness of Open Minds? Susan has kindly offered me an e-copy to giveaway here  – winners choice of eitehr book + her short story prequel, Mind Games! All you need to do in fill in the form below! Open internationally and ends 9th June 2012. Good Luck!


  1. So... make sure I read the first one before this one and not do my patented skipping around. :D This one sounds so good. I so need these books... I guess that means I'll need the trilogy! :D

  2. Hm, dunno, I do want to get to know the world. Else it just feels like I am, well lost really. Sure it can work sometimes