Monday, 11 June 2012

Magic In The Blood Review

Magic in the Blood (Allie Beckstrom 2)
-         Devin Monk

Publisher: Berkley UK

Working as a Hound-tracing illegal spells back to their casters-has taken its toll on Allison Beckstrom. But even though magic has given her migraines and stolen her recent memory, Allie isn't about to quit. Then the police's magic enforcement division asks her to consult on a missing persons case. But what seems to be a straightforward job turns out to be anything but, as Allie finds herself drawn into the underworld of criminals, ghosts, and blood magic

It had a been a long time since I read the first book in this series (Magic in the Bone – my review here) and to be honest I didn’t remember a lot about it other than the feeling that it was okay, I didn’t feel the need to rush out to read the rest of the books in the series. Having finished the second book in the series, I definitely have a need now to run out and get the other books in this series! Either my tastes have changed or this really is a series that needs a couple of books to get going – much like some of my other favourite UF series.

The idea of magic using you is very intriguing as is the idea that anyone can use magic, if you’re willing to pay the cost…In this world that price can be a headache, a fever, memory loss…in the first book Allie used enough magic to wipe a lot of her recent memories so this does in a way feel like a new start to the series. There are a lot of factors and elements that are introduced - from Allie’s fellow Hounds, the police detective, even her love interest is re-introduced so it does feel like a book you pick up without reading the first and jump straight into the story. There are a lot of elements that feel like they’re laying the groundwork for future adventures, but I never felt lost at all. And there is a lot happening – Allie does a lot in just two days (and a lot before breakfast!) and the pace feels fast but not frantic. With enough magical action and mystery to keep more UF fans happy, there is plenty of character development as well.

Allie is a pretty strong character who I liked a lot. Reading my review from the first book I complained that she never felt pro-active, just reacted to events. That is not the case here as while she may not have always been in control, Allie did take responsibility make decisions. I liked a lot of the secondary characters as well. Her love interest, Jones, is very sweet and very mysterious. I want to know more about him and I like him a lot after his actions here. Pike, Allie's fellow hound is an interesting character as is the Detective she meets. There are no vampires, no werewolves – just humans with the full range of characteristics that humans bring to the table. I really enjoyed this book – much more than I was expecting and have now added Allie Beckstrom to my list of Urban Fantasy series I need to follow. Luckily for me, the UK is still quite a few books behind in the series so plenty of good reading ahead of me!

Recommended for fans of Patricia Briggs and Faith Hunter. 8 out of 10


  1. I love this series, so I'm thrilled whenever fellow bookworms are infected with the Beckstrom virus! Enjoy the sequels!

  2. I'm so glad you had continued the series. I really love this one and I hope it will be the same for you for the whole series. I'm so sad it's almost the end...

  3. Oh I like it when a character grows in the direction you want! I haven't read the first but it looks like I'm going to have to read this whole series. I'm glad this one rocked when the first one didn't for you!

  4. I do have book 2 ;) But I read book 1 ages ago and I really can't remember anything anymore.