Wednesday, 18 April 2012

Fair Game Review

Fair Game (Alpha and Omega 3)
-       Patricia Briggs
Publisher: UK – Orbit
They say opposites attract. And in the case of werewolves Anna Latham and Charles Cornick, they mate. The son-and enforcer-of the leader of the North American werewolves, Charles is a dominant alpha. While Anna, an omega, has the rare ability to calm others of her kind. Now that the werewolves have revealed themselves to humans, they can't afford any bad publicity. Infractions that could have been overlooked in the past must now be punished, and the strain of doing his father's dirty work is taking a toll on Charles.
Nevertheless, Charles and Anna are sent to Boston, when the FBI requests the pack's help on a local serial killer case. They quickly realize that not only the last two victims were werewolves-all of them were. Someone is targeting their kind. And now Anna and Charles have put themselves right in the killer's sights...
Reading a Patricia Briggs books is a little like going to your favourite restaurant and ordering your favourite pizza. You know what you’re going to get but at the same time it’s different on each occasion - the ambiance, the pizza sauce, where you sit in the restaurant, who you’re with can change the experience so much! Patricia Briggs writes Urban Fantasy with such deft confidence and assuredly, you never have to worry about anything but enjoying the ride!
This book follows Anna and Charles as they assist the FBI in a decade long serial killer case in Boston, while Charles struggles to deal with the demons that his role as his father’s enforcers brings and how that impacts his relationship with his wife. I just adore the relationship between Anna and Charles – they are true equals and partners in the truth. While their relationship is under strain, it is not love or trust that is in doubt. Overall, the relationship feels warm and very sweet – I would love to find a Charles of my very own!
The investigation of the serial killer is intriguing and does introduce a number of new characters to the world. I especially liked Leslie, the FBI agent on the case and would love to see her gain a story of her own at some point. While there are some intense fight scenes most of the action here are personality clashes and wolf dominance battles (mostly growling and eye contact) which helps develop the wolf world. I pretty much devoured the whole book and struggled to put it down enjoying the whole thing. Then at the end something happens which is a major game changer for this world which will have serious consequences for Anna and Charles as well as the Mercy Thompson series...things won’t be the same again!
Recommended for fans of Rachel Vincent and Carrie Vaughn. 9 out of 10


  1. Patricia Briggs is awesome, isn't she? I'm REALLY looking forward to the next Mercy to discover how this book changes things for her.

  2. Skimming! I am yet to read book 2 but yay that it's good

  3. OOOOH, now I can't wait to read Fair Game even more after you said about the twist in the end :) great review as always, Mel! Loved your comparison with pizzas :)

  4. Oh I need to read the second one. I haven't this one yet because well I have the books in French so for now it's book 2 to read. But I'm glad it was so amazing, I'm very curious to read Fair Game.

  5. I really enjoy this series as well Mel, and sounds like the intertwining with it and the Mercy Thompson series has been impacted in a big way!

  6. You kill me. I can't eat pizza anymore. :( However, your review is delish! :) I love this series even though I've only read the short and the first book. Need to get back into it. So need! :)

  7. I really do need to read her books. *sigh* One of these days...One of these days. :) Thank you!