Wednesday, 6 February 2013

Devil May Care Review

Devil May Care
Patricia Eimer

Publisher: Entangled Publishing

E-Arc courtesy of Netgalley and Entangled Publishing

After a month of planning not one, but two, demonic weddings, all Faith Bettincourt—the youngest Crown Princess of Hell—wants is to spend some quality time with her angelic boyfriend, Matt. But when a ghost from Matt’s past walks through Faith’s apartment door, her preoccupation with the weddings from Hell is all that’s keeping her from turning his ex, in all her devious angelic glory, into a down throw pillow.
Which is about when Matt’s zealous mother declares war on Faith’s family.
Now Faith will stop at nothing to stop the craziness and make sure the impending nuptials go off without a hitch. All she’s got to do is rescue one of the grooms and go up against an army of so-called do-gooders, and everything will go back to normal. Or as normal as it can be where the Devil's spawn is concerned. With any luck, she might just be able to resuscitate her love life while she's at it.

A common theme running through many books is that families can be hell and in Faith’s case that is more literal than metaphorical. Her father is the Devil, she is demoness with wings, tail and horns and she is currently dating an angel who lives across the hall. Unfortunately his ex-girlfriend has shown up wanting him back, while her ex-boyfriend has also arrived on the scene, without any memories of their relationship and falls for her again. Add in two family weddings and Faith’s patience starts to run low...

This is one of those books were the banter between the characters is fun, frivolous and laugh out loud amusing. It could almost be a chick-lit frothy read with demons and angels thrown in for decoration. Faith has the same relationship and family issues as any young woman – although gratefully she is confident in herself and her abilities. Her family are familiar to most people with an over-protective Dad, a hippy Mum, an older half-brother who’s a pain and a bitchy sister – but despite their sniping and banter – but despite their sniping and mockery with each other there is a strong core. And when someone attacks one of them, they pull together.

Outside of the relationships, there is some investigation into drug thievery at the hospital Faith works which doesn’t really go anywhere but ties up some loose ends from the first book, Luck of the Devil. Overall, this is a fast, fun read – light hearted and amusing so a perfect anecdote for the wet, miserable winter days!

Recommended for fans of Mary Janice Davidson and Kerrelyn Sparks, 7.5 out of 10


  1. It does sound cute and I do like that

  2. Didn't the ending kill you? ACK!

    I enjoyed this one as well. I just love a fun book and this one was fun. I especially love the family dynamics.

  3. I still need to read book 1 but I hope I'll do it soon as I have this one as well.