Wednesday, 20 February 2013

Scarecrow and the Army of Thieves Review

Scarecrow and the Army of Thieves
Matthew Reilly

Publisher: Orion Books

At an abandoned military base in the Arctic, a battle to save the world has begun...
THE SECRET BASE Known only as Dragon Island, the long-forgotten relic of the Cold War houses a weapon of terrible destructive force. And it has just been re-activated.
A RENEGADE ARMY When Dragon Island is seized by terrorists, the fate of the world hangs in the balance.
ONE SMALL TEAM The only unit close enough to avert disaster is an equipment-testing team led by a Marine captain named Schofield, call sign SCARECROW. They are not equipped to attack a fortified island held by a small army but will go in anyway - because someone has to.

This was one wild ride! Switch off your brain; leave all reasonable objections behind and just suit up for an adventure to save the world! Scarecrow is the code name for a US Marine who manages to survive impossible odds, think quickly in tight spots and running into some truly evil people with world domination plans. I could tell more about the story – an army of terrorists invade one the Soviet Unions old military research bases and is about the release a gas cloud which when ignite will burn half the Northern Hemisphere. Luckily Scarecrow, a couple of marines and civilian testing team are in the area – but to be honest, the plot is mere details in a full on blockbuster summer action movie that just happens to be a book.

This is the fourth book following Scarecrow’s adventures but for once it doesn’t matter if you’ve never even heard of the previous books – this is a completely stand alone story and while some events from the past are mentioned, it doesn’t overwhelm or confuse new readers. There is some science mentioned that seems a little exaggerated but rather than let it interfere with the speed and sheer joy, it’s best to just accept it as fact go along with it. There are some thrilling set-pieces and one very disturbing torture scene that will have you on the edge of your seat and the adrenalin flowing.

I found this such a refreshing book to read after some emotional and dark fantasy. It really blew the cobwebs away and was pure fun. If you like Arnold Schwarzenegger mivies then you should like this. J

Recommended for fans of Dan Brown and James Rollins. 8 out of 10


  1. I've only read the one Scarecrow book so far, but it was a blast. Like you said, switch off your brain, strap in, and have fun.

    I'd compare him more to Clive Cussler and James Rollins, but that's just my personal experience. :)

  2. I don't mind exaggerated science as long as it sounds reasonable. I hate it when there are so many holes you could drive a tank through it. I do like a fun thrilling book so this one might be for me. :)