Monday, 10 December 2012

Novella Review: Hidden

Hidden (Otherworld #10.5)
Kelley Armstrong

Kindle Book

Hiking through the snow, holiday baking and playing board games by the fire – what’s not to love about an old-fashioned family Christmas?
Werewolves Elena Michaels and Clayton Danvers want to give their four-year-old twins, Kate and Logan, something their parents never had: a nice, normal holiday. No Pack responsibilities, no homicidal half-demons or power-hungry sorcerers to deal with – just the four of them, alone, at a chalet outside Ontario’s Algonquin Park. Then a strange werewolf shows up at their door…while the town is buzzing about a young man, back from college, found half-eaten in the woods. And there’s the missing little girl …
With all the signs pointing to a rogue mutt with a taste for human flesh, Elena and Clay have no choice but to investigate. But are they the hunters – or the hunted?

It’s no secret that I adore Kelley Armstrong’s Otherworld series – they were the first Urban Fantasy books I read and really introduced into the type of books I didn’t even know I had been wanting to read for ages. Hidden is a novella which follows Elena and Clay as they take their twins away for a family Christmas only to find some Strays in the area...

While the investigation into the local strays is interesting, the real joy are the discussions between Elena and Clay on how to raise their children. This was a wonderful story – really in keeping with Elena’s character as she balances her Alpha in waiting duties with her new parental responsibilities. It’s a fantastic insight into a character who I’ve been following for the last ten years and seeing her grow from the angry woman she was at the beginning. Clay is much softer now as a father but still able to wield that ‘grrr’ factor for want of a better description! I loved the little insight into Noah and Reese, the two new members of the pack – they really round out the pack and bring some young blood in now that Elena, Clay and Nick are growing up.

The writing is as fabulous as ever, while all the Christmas preparation from hot chocolate by the fire to gingerbread baking really gets you into a festive mood. While this isn't a full length novel, it is long enough to really feel involved (approx 193 pages) and getting to know the characters. Christmas with werewolves can’t get any better! J

Recommended for fans of Patricia Briggs and Ilona Andrews. 9 out of 10


  1. Ahhhh! I so need to get caught up with Elena and Clay Mel! I read Bitten and Stolen but then lost track of the series, I need to go back and read the other book (books?) that feature Clay and Elena. I adore them:) I'm very much looking forward to their discussions on parenting!

  2. Oh I didn't know this one but I'm curious know. Well I'm still at the 7th book, but I need to read more.

  3. I want to get back into the Otherworld again. I haven't gotten to the part where they have kids yet. Yes, I'm that bad and I miss Elena and Clay! Will put this one on the list to get to as well.

  4. I do want to try this one. I've only read a few of the last books, but I need to get to the beginning. :) Thanks!

  5. I like the cover art. Sounds really good. I'm coming from book lovers inc. Holiday reading challenge