Wednesday, 5 December 2012

Whispers Under Ground (Peter Grant #3) Review

Whispers Under Ground (Peter Grant #3)
Ben Aaronovitch

Publisher: Gollancz

'Come Monday I get to do some proper policing. Person Unknown has been stabbed to death on the tracks at Baker Street tube. Magic may have been involved.'
Person Unknown turns out to be the son of a US senator and before you can say 'International incident', FBI agent Kimberley Reynolds is on DC Grant's case.
And down in the dark, in the tunnels of London's Underground, the buried rivers, the Victorian sewers, there are whispers of vengeance from beyond the grave.
DC Grant's latest case is about to come off the rails...

This is the third adventure following police constable and apprentice-wizard Peter Grant as he investigates a murder at Baker Street tube station. Peter Grant is as ordinary as you can be, considering he is able to wield magic. He isn’t that good at policing though, but his friend and fellow apprentice Leslie is good at the real police work. Together they have a great chemistry and rapport which really anchors this story. The change in their relationship after the events of the first two books simmers away in the background of the investigation and adds a wonderful flavour to the mixing pot.

The course of the investigation throws Peter and Leslie into London’s art world, underground scene and international politics when an FBI agent keeps following Peter around. There has obviously been a lot research done on parts of London and the underground that mixes an air of authenticity to the story and keeps you wondering how much of this could be true. There is a large element of hidden London – both the magically hidden and below the surface which explores one of the most complicated cities in the world. However, this is all background material on a fast paced story which has numerous twists and turns that will have you scratching your head to keep up – with the magic used just occasionally to season the story without overpowering it.

The story is set in the lead up to Christmas so felt very timely to be reading it now! There is plenty of sarcasm between characters as they banter which reminds me so much of normal conversations in the UK and adds melting of comedy. This was a perhaps the least personal investigation for Peter so far and as such it lacks a little sparkle that the first two books had. However, it still puts the story, the writing and the characters miles above most books! This is a great Urban Fantasy adventure for those who like plot and characters in a well thought out world with so much potential for further adventures. Great fun!

Recommended for fans of Jim Butcher and James R Tuck. 8 out of 10


  1. This one does seem like a lot of fun! I'm sorry it didn't rock as hard as the first 2, but still is enough to really enjoy. I really do need to start these. Ah so many books... :)

  2. I'm still glad you enjoyed it, Mel! Last time I was inside London Underground I kept thinking about Peter :)) These are the sort of books that kind of stay with you for a long time. Lovely review!

  3. I was thinking I recognized this authors name, then I realized it was the third book. So I must have seen it at least once if not twice before. ;) Aounds great! Thank you!