Friday, 7 December 2012

Novella Review: Miracle at the Museum of Broken Hearts

Miracle at the Museum of Broken Hearts
Talli Roland

Kindle Book

Does every relationship deserve a second chance?
When chief romantic Rose Delaney scores her dream job at London's quirkiest new attraction, The Museum of Broken Hearts, she thinks she's got it made. Sure, it's a little depressing dealing with relics of failed relationships each day, but Rose is determined not to let it break her 'love conquers all' spirit. After discovering the museum's handsome curator is nursing a broken heart of his own, Rose steps in to fix it. Can Rose heal the rift, or will this happy ending go awry?

The Christmas theme is purely a matter of when it is set – the Museum of Broken Heart is due to open on 15th December. The Museum of Broken Hearts aims to share with the world the remains of all those relationships that ended – from underwear worn on the last night to a salt shaker that stood through years of marriage. Rosie bored of her job at the British Museum applies to be assistant curator to the museum despite believing in happy ever-afters and fairy tale endings, but her new boss makes her start to question that belief.

This is a sweet short story about expecting happy endings verses making them happen. Rosie is a nice character – a little naive perhaps but basically good-hearted wanting everyone to be happy. Her new boss is a little aloof, but very handsome and it doesn’t take a genius to guess what will happen between the two of them. However, you don’t read Chick-Lit for original stories. The journey is sweet and well-worn and it does leave you with a big smile on your face.

A perfect wintery tale for those incurable romantics wanting their heart strings pulled in the run up to Christmas.

Recommended for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Carole Matthews. 7 out of 10


  1. "However, you don’t read Chick-Lit for original stories."

    Hahaha exactly! I read a lot of romance as well, and I certainly don't pick it up looking for an unpredictable storyline:)I love books like this - ones that aren't overly taxing but instead just put a big smile on my face when I'm reading:) Lovely review Mel!

  2. You are right... that is why I sometimes enjoy chick-lit. You know you are going to get a HEA and sometimes you just need one. Sounds like a good one.

  3. Looks cute, I would enjoy it. I like chic.lit