Friday, 14 December 2012

Novella Review: Six Geese a-Laying

Six Geese a-Laying
Sophie Kinsella

Kindle Book

In Six Geese a-Laying, Christmas is approaching, and Ginny is looking forward to the birth of her first baby. It's a pity her partner Dan is so useless, and she has to keep reminding him where he's going wrong. Luckily she's enrolled into the most exclusive antenatal class going - all the highest achieving, smartest mothers-to-be aspire to be taught by the legendary Petal Harmon. Like the other five women in the class, Ginny already knows exactly what she wants, and how she's going to handle motherhood.But when they turn up for the final class it isn't quite what they expect. As Ginny discovers what parenthood is really going to be like, she begins to realize the things that really matter...

This is a sweet short story set days before Christmas at an exclusive pre-natal class for six women (whose names all begin with ‘G’). It’s their last class before their due dates and they are all chatting away comparing notes on nurses, names and worries they have about the birth and the child they are carrying. However, the last class is different from others as their instructor is able to give them all glimpses of what lays ahead (pun intended!).

I really enjoyed this – especially as it seems a lot of my friends are pregnant at the moment! It addresses a lot of the concerns expectant mothers have about themselves, their health care, their child and even their relationships, but at the same time is amusing and light. It’s not a long story but a fantastic little break from real life and easily read within half an hour.

Recommended for fans of Trisha Ashley and Marian Keys. 8 out of 10


  1. Have to say it is funny when you realize the pun. I can see this as a great pressie for those expecting. I still need to read a Kinsella book!

  2. I love her! I have to check this out, sounds hilarious.