Saturday, 8 December 2012

Novella Review: A Karma Girl Christmas

A Karma Girl Christmas (Bigtime Superheroes #3.5)
Jennifer Estep

Kindle Book

It's Christmas time in Bigtime, New York, but society reporter Carmen Cole isn't in the mood to celebrate since her husband, Sam, has to go on a business trip and might not make it home for the holiday. But Carmen has plenty to keep her busy, since she moonlights as Karma Girl, a member of the Fearless Five superhero team. On Christmas Eve, Carmen, as Karma Girl, is assigned to guard toys, clothes, food, and more that are intended for needy children and their families. But an ubervillain also has his eye on the toys and plans to steal and then sell them to the highest bidder. Carmen will have to use all her empathic powers just to stay alive, not to mention make sure Christmas is a happy one for all the kids who are counting on her. It's all in a night's work for a superhero ...

A return visit to Bigtime at Christmas time to see how Carmen aka Karma Girl is getting to grips with being a superhero instead of uncovering their secret identities. This Christmas instead of snuggling up with her new husband Sam aka Stryker Carmen has to guard piles of presents for under-privileged kids…and of course it’s too tempting a target for the Uber-villians to just leave alone…

Carmen is a great character – warm and understanding, but with a piquant line of snark that stops her being too perfect. While most of the characters we’ve met so far appear at some point in cameo scenes or just in the background this is Carmen’s story and a nice catch up to see how she has coped with becoming a superhero. Her powers are fun to investigate and it was nice to see how she was able to handle the role without the rest of the Fearless Five around. Like the books, there are a lot of clich├ęs in the story but you know it’s been included on purpose knowing you’d recognise them and enjoy them! My one criticism is that it is too short – I would love Carmen to feature as the main character in another full length novel!

Overall this is a very sweet story which reads like a cheesy Christmas special from one of you favourite TV shows – light, fun and full of seasonal cheer!

Recommended for fans of Lois and Clark and Christmas! 8 out of 10

2 comments:

  1. I thought it was a fun book as well! Perfect for some light reading about now. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. You have so loved this series! And I'm planning on winning Melissa (B&T)'s giveaway so I can have it. lol.

    Thanks!

    ReplyDelete