Monday, 29 August 2011

Early Review: The Evil Inside

The Evil Inside (Krewe of Hunters 4)
-       Heather Graham
Kindle Book
E-Copy courtesy of netgalley and MIRA
For as long as it has stood overlooking New England’s jagged coastline, Lexington House has been the witness to madness…and murder. But in recent years the inexplicable malice that once tormented so many has lain as silent as its victims. Until now…
A member of the nation’s foremost paranormal forensic team, Jenna Duffy has made a career out of investigating the inexplicable. Yet nothing could prepare her for the string of slayings once again plaguing Lexington House – or for the chief suspect, a boy barely old enough to drive, much less kill.
With the young man’s life on the line, Jenna must team up with attorney Samuel Hill to pinpoint who – or what – is taking the lives of those who get too close to the past. But everything they learn brings them closer to the forces of evil stalking this tortured ground.
This is the fourth book in the Krewe of Hunters series, although it isn’t necessary to read them in order. This book is based on the quiet member of the Krewe – registered nurse and Celtic beauty, Jenna. She returns to Salem at the request of her uncle to investigate a gruesome series of murders based at a local house infamous for multiple murders in the past and teams up with Defence Attorney, Sam Hill.
I have to confess I hadn’t really connected with Jenna this far in the series – she’s had little to do compared to Whitney or Angelica, but it was interesting to have her front and centre. However, it was the complicated man that is Sam Hill that made this book for me. He is a pile of contradictions and I really liked getting to know him. The romance between Sam and Jenna is gentle and fits around the mystery well. It’s not the hottest romance in this series but suits the two of them nicely.
The mystery itself is intriguing and the investigation is the most intriguing part of the book – I loved the selection of suspects which had me  trying to figure it out! The ghostly element is downplayed in this instalment – but still important. However as one character says – a ghost has never killed anyone – people do. J
If you want a gentle romance with a strong mystery and a hint of supernatural this is the series for you – a perfect summer read.
Recommended for fans of Goddess Summoning Series and Tales of the Sazi. 7 out of 10


  1. Sounds really nice, thanks for the review!

  2. I was wondering about this one! So thanks for the review :)

    I think it is a series that I really must try and pick up at some point - there really is just way too many books and not near enough time! :D

  3. Gentle romance with as strong mystery, oh I do not know. But I do think it would be fun to try out and see

  4. Hm... I really do need to read a Heather Graham book. I have on on the tbr and I need to see if it is a part of this series. This looks like something I'd enjoy.

  5. Another series I hadn't heard of before. Sounds chilling.

  6. I love these book series that Heather Graham writes, too bad am so far behind on them that do not even have the books yet. Thanks for the review Mel, sounds like Ms. Graham pulled another rabbit out of her hat and penned a winner!