Wednesday, 17 August 2011

Magic Slays Review

Magic Slays (Kate Daniels 5)
-       Ilona Andrews
Publisher: Ace Fantasy
Plagued by a war between magic and technology, Atlanta has never been so deadly. Good thing Kate Daniels is on the job.  Kate Daniels may have quit the Order of Merciful Aid, but she’s still knee-deep in paranormal problems. Or she would be if she could get someone to hire her. Starting her own business has been more challenging than she thought it would be—now that the Order is disparaging her good name, and many potential clients are afraid of getting on the bad side of the Beast Lord, who just happens to be Kate’s mate. So when Atlanta’s premier Master of the Dead calls to ask for help with a vampire on the loose, Kate leaps at the chance of some paying work. Turns out this is not an isolated incident, and Kate needs to get to the bottom of it—fast, or the city and everyone dear to her might pay the ultimate price ...
This is the fifth book in Kate Daniels series and the series just seems to get better and better. Considering when we first met Kate she was an isolated, paranoid, prickly and lonely individual. Now she has friends and family who she will fight tooth and nail to protect. With a threat to all the supernaturals of Atlanta, everything Kate has won over the last few books, her mate, her best friend, her ward is all at risk.
Once again Ilona Andrews delivers an action packed adventure with an intriguing mystery to start which will tug at your heartstrings. I have to admit to filling up on more than one occasion. At the same time, the action set pieces left me breathless and my heart pounding. This series is one of the best Urban Fantasy series I have ever read. The unique world where tech and magic ebbs and flows is a fantastic creation where anything can and does happen. If you haven’t started the series, you should. The first book is a little slow going but the whole series is fabulous. J
Recommended for fans of Patricia Briggs and Rachel Vincent. 9 out of 10.


  1. eeeeeeeeeek, skimming! Gotta read book 4 first

  2. Stop eeet! I needs this series. I am so behind on my series reading. I still need to read book 1! Yes, I do mean in order! LOL However, you keep enticing me like this and I may read book 5 now! ;)

  3. Eeep! I have to start this series. And thanks to one special person... ;)... I now have the first book to do so! :D Thank you! Now I have to get to it. Great great review!!!