Wednesday, 3 August 2011

Hunted By The Others Review

Hunted By The Others (H&W Investigations 1)
-       Jess Haines
Kindle Books
Shiarra Waynest's detective work was dangerous enough when her client base was strictly mortal. But ailing finances have forced her to accept a lucrative case that could save her firm - if it doesn't kill her first. Shiarra has signed on to work for a high-level mage to recover an ancient artifact owned by one of New York's most powerful vampires. As soon as Shiarra meets sexy, mesmerizing vamp Alec Royce, she knows her assignment is even more complicated than she thought. With a clandestine anti-Other group trying to recruit her, and magi being eliminated, Shiarra needs back-up and enlists her ex-boyfriend - a werewolf whose non-furry form is disarmingly appealing - and a nerdy mage with surprising talents. But it may not be enough. In a city where the undead roam, magic rules, and even the Others aren't always what they seem, Shiarra has just become the secret weapon in a battle between good and evil - whether she likes it or not...
This was one of the first books I knew I would have read while on holiday – partly because my copy has been sitting on my TBR pile for a long time, but mostly because I had heard so many positive things about this series so I was looking forward to meeting Shiarra and friends. And I think I’ve made some new friends! J
Shiarra doesn’t get involved with The Others – werewolves, vampires and mages who came out after the terrorist attacks on 911. She avoids them out of fear and ignorance and is happy to pretend they don’t exist for the most part – until one case leads her straight into the lion’s den as it were. There is a big mixture of Others involved and I loved the way they integrated themselves into the world – especially the contracts that are needed for them to be involved with regular humans.
This is a quick paced, fun Urban Fantasy. I loved some of the characters especially Sarah and Arnold who were hilarious! I also like the stake belt Shiarra receives – sure there’s some history behind that we still have to find. Royce is an intriguing character – and I’m curious about what will happen between them next! It’s not perfect – there is a lot of exposition explaining the world (necessary in a first book in a series) and Shiarra seems to be talked into things rather quickly. Her change of mind about her boyfriend, Chaz is rather sudden and I didn’t really understand the relationship between them – it felt a little forced to me. Overall though this is a good start to the series and I’m really looking forward to next two instalment – both of which I have waiting for me to start soon! J
Recommended for fans of Carrie Vaughn and Jaye Wells. 7 out of 10.


  1. I like book 2 even more so they get better, yay, I love when good books become even better :D

  2. Oh I have the first book and I still need to read it. Yes, I know I will like it already! Brilly review!

  3. Oh I have this one on the shelves! And so glad to see you enjoyed it too. :) And for fans of Jaye Wells, well right up my alley. ;D Thank you!!!

  4. I read this one awhile back and really enjoyed it as well. I'm looking forward to continuing on with this series sometime soon. Great review!