Monday, 19 November 2012

Mr Real Review

Mr Real (Code of Shadows #1)
 Carolyn Crane

Kindle Book

E-copy Courtesy of Carolyn Crane and Netgalley

Alix Gordon is a woman who doesn’t take life too seriously. What’s the fun in that? So when she stumbles across occult software that can bring any computer image to life, she conjures up lots of awesome outfits and accessories. And then, on one drunken, horny night, she conjures up Sir Kendall, the sexy TV ad spy . . . who looks exactly like Paul Reinhardt, the super-sexy martial arts teacher who kicked her out of class three years ago. Fighter Paul Reinhardt has good reason to hate Sir Kendall, the character he brought to life to land a part in a TV ad; he’d do anything to forget him. A cross country road trip seems just the thing . . . until Paul finds himself inexplicably drawn to Minnesota and is shocked to discover Sir Kendall - in the flesh - with the girl he’d once loved from afar. He barges into Alix and Sir Kendall’s love nest, determined to stop the madness - somehow. But is superspy Sir Kendall transforming into something more dangerous anyone can imagine? And what will Sir Kendall do when Paul and Alix finally give into their mad lust for each other?

This is a fun, sexy read that manages to combine magic and technology to create a fantastic premise. Alix has always been considered a bit of a crazy girl – the wild child of her straight-laced family, but when she inherits a house – including a mysterious computer code - from a forgotten aunt, things get really wild, Suddenly Alix can have anything she wants – and she decides she wants sexy, super-spy Sir Kendall from a drinks advert...unfortunately the actor who plays Sir Kendall in real life has something to say about that!

Despite the complicated set up, the story really is about relationships and the three characters all pop off the page. I love Alix’s craziness and her attempts to take responsility and grow up. Fighter and former ad star, Paul is more than just a hot male (although he is that too!). He is struggling with a tough childhood, guilt and meeting Alix again throws up all sorts of emotions. Even Sir Kendall, the spy come to life, is a complete character, determined to save the world but not sure what to make off his ‘twin’ Paul and Alix. He’s more than just an obstacle between Alix and Paul. I love all three of them and the chapters alternate between each point of view so you can really get under their skin. The tension between Alix and Paul is palpable and I liked the way they reconnected after so long.

I read this quickly, keen to know what would happen next. It made me laugh and was such an entertaining read that I can’t wait for another visit to the Code of Shadows... I’m hoping the heroine will be Alix’s friend Karen as she was a great character that really deserves more exploration. Great characters, interesting set up, smouldering relationships and one of the most relaxing and pleasurable romance reads for some time!

Recommended for fans of Ann Aguirre and Rachel Vincent. 8 out of 10


  1. this book was really fun, I liked it as well!

  2. Oh this does sound like fun. I haven't really heard of this one of hers and so it now goes on the wishlist!

  3. This is one review book I do want to read, it does sound like fun.