Monday, 12 November 2012

Snuff Review

- Terry Prachett

Publisher: Corgi

According to the writer of the best-selling crime novel ever to have been published in the city of Ankh-Morpork, it is a truth universally acknowledged that a policeman taking a holiday would barely have had time to open his suitcase before he finds his first corpse. And Commander Sam Vimes of the Ankh-Morpork City Watch is on holiday in the pleasant and innocent countryside, but not for him a mere body in the wardrobe. There are many, many bodies and an ancient crime more terrible than murder. 
He is out of his jurisdiction, out of his depth, out of bacon sandwiches, and occasionally snookered and out of his mind, but never out of guile. Where there is a crime there must be a finding, there must be a chase and there must be a punishment. 
They say that in the end all sins are forgiven. But not quite all.

Another visit to the Discworld with Terry Prachett! This another Sam Vimes story but this time he and his family have left Anhk-Morpork behind to have a holiday in the country. The first half of this book is Discworld’s version of Midsomer Murders. Sam Vimes wanders about the country, where someone is always watching you, talking to people and becomes sure that something isn’t right about the country...especially with Goblins in the area...  

After so many books set in the colourful and fragrant Anhk-Morpork, it’s a refreshing change to see the countryside surrounding the premier city of Discworld. Terry Prachett manages to subvert a dozen English countryside stereotypes every two pages – whether it’s the local barflys at the pub, to the upstairs-downstairs relationships in the big house they is some amusing and clever take on traditions. Personally, I loved the idea of the spinning maids – it had me smiling all through the latest episode of Downtown Abbey! J

The second half of the story is more action packed with river chases and close escapes –more Twenty-Four less Midsomer Murders. There is even some deep philosophical ponderings about the nature of evil – and if you understand how evil minds work, does that make you evil...? It’s quite deep, but subtly done and adds to Sam Vimes character after so many books. The other element that adds to Sam Vimes personality is how much he loves his son, young Sam. Young Sam is a joy and delight to read about, with his obsession with poo and complete disregard for knowing what he should be afraid off.

This is another entertaining visit to the Discworld showing that Terry hasn’t lost his knack for making the ordinary sublime and ridiculous normal. Good, clean(ish) fun.

Recommended for fans of Tom Holt and Jasper Fforde. 8 out of 10


  1. Hm... I really need to think about picking up one of his books. I like it when books make you think (and I also need to start watching Downtown Abby...). You also had me at Jasper Fforde. :)

  2. I really need to read some discworld having read and loved Dodger recently. I have been intrigued by this one for a while and think it'll probably be one of the first discworld books that I pick up.